Like a kid on Christmas day

Not that I ever did much regular life updating to begin with, but I feel like I totally stopped writing anything about my actual life unless it was to do with something stupid I did, like deciding to melt butter on a radiator then forgetting about it. Mess ensues.

Well, here’s a snippet of my merry life.

Christmas was great, and I got some truly joyous presents.

An unexpected hit with me, Bridesmaids was a movie I have been longing to watch again since I first saw it so many months ago and I finally got to when Santa delivered it! Kristen Wiig is wonderful and I want to be just like her when I grow up.

Funny scene with Melissa McCarthy, who is absolutely hilarious in this movie. Don’t know how, but at the time I didn’t realize this is the same woman who plays Suki from Gilmore Girls.

Star Trek, seasons 1 & 2 of the original series! I’m on my way to completing my goal of someday becoming a Trekkie (which apparently is serious enough to be entered into spell check, because I spelled Trekkie with a lowercase t and got a red squiggly line thrown in my face!).

I love Spock.

I also got some cookbooks, one of which was Spike Mendelsohn’s. I went to his restaurant in DC, Good Stuff Eatery, in 2008 and I loved it.

I love his recipes because they are all interesting, fun spins on traditional foods – hamburgers, fried foods, milkshakes. Very, very good.

I got a few video games, American history books, more DVDs and some other stuff. I hate to classify it as “some other stuff” because that makes it sound not as cool, but every single present I got was wonderful. I’ve never stopped being a kid on Christmas day. I’m as exciting about giving and receiving presents as I was when I was 5.

Also, I discovered this song quite a long time ago, then forgot about it, then rediscovered it and now I keep listening to it. Addicted. No, it’s not country.

Also, hear this.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Like a kid on Christmas day

  1. Bridesmaids is one of my favorite movies too. During the scene when Kristen Wiig is outside destroying everything at the bridal shower and stabbing the statue with a pen, I couldn’t stop laughing. I was in tears actually. Sadly, I could totally see myself doing that as well. Okay, maybe not actually doing it. But wanting to do it. She is my hero. 🙂

What are your thoughts?

