Top 10 Christmas Songs

I know Christmas songs. I start listening to them in October every year, and sometimes during the year when I need a cheery boost. (btw, welcome to my new ridiculously Christmas site)

I love Christmas so much that I had a photo shoot with my sister a couple years ago where we dressed up in Christmas stuff. I guess that’s the word. Anyway, here you go:

I’m gonna go ahead and say these are in no particular order, because I think I truly love them all equally. I’m sure I missed one that’s also my favorite, but whatever. These are 10 good ones in any case.

1. Happy Holidays, from the Fred Astaire/Bing Crosby movie Holiday Inn. I am in love with this version.

2. It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year, by Andy Williams

This song gets me going every time I hear it. My joy meter goes from 0 to 10 in about one second when I hear the opening notes.

3. Santa Claus is Coming to Town, but only by Ella Fitzgerald

I normally don’t love this song, but Ella’s version is simply fantastic.

4. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas

I can’t decide if I prefer Judy Garland’s version or Ella’s! Which do you prefer? Judy’s is slow and sad, but Ella’s is fun and, well, pretty much amazing like every other of her songs.

5. Baby it’s Cold Outside

Love it.

6. Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy

I’ve always loved The Nutcracker and have seen the production twice. I even performed one of the songs in a ballet recital when I was about 7 or 8.

7. The Christmas Song

8. Carol of the Bells

This has always been one of my favorites, and whenever I hear it I think of the Tim Allen movie The Santa Clause.

9. Fa la la, by Justin Bieber and Boyz II Men

A surprise entry into my top 10 list! I was never a Bieber fan, but once I heard his duet Christmas song with one of my all-time favorite bands, Boyz II Men, I was hooked. This song will remain one of my favorites for a long time. I’ve already blogged about it once, so this makes its second appearance on ye olde blog.

10. All I Want for Christmas is You, by Mariah Carey.

Coincidentally, Justin Bieber also carries this tune on his new Christmas CD. I’ve had Mariah Carey’s Merry Christmas CD since I was like, 12. I’m never getting rid of it.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Top 10 Christmas Songs

  1. Carol of the Bells, and its Trans-Siberian Orchestra version (Sarajevo 24/7) are favorites. O Come, O Come, Immanuel ranks up there, too. Along with the Coventry Carol.

What are your thoughts?

