I’m still mad that college ruined Disney for me.

I was like a religious person when it came to loving Disney. I simply kept the happy feelings the movies gave me and didn’t put much thought into actually thinking about the message of the movies. I say message in the singular form because almost all of the classics have a similar message: all that matters is that you’re beautiful (on the outside).

Click on the picture if it’s slightly blurred so you can see it a bit bigger.

I used to love Belle so much. Then I took a required ethics class in college three years ago and saw Beauty and the Beast in a new light: Don’t worry about domestic violence. Stick with your man and he WILL change and fall in love with you.

OK, so I still love Belle. Whatever. I have the Beauty and the Beast soundtrack and I’m not getting rid of that any time soon. I even have the Beauty and the Beast Christmas movie. But I still wish I was in the dark about these princesses, especially Belle!

Also, is it just me or are Disney movies just not as good as they used to be? I thought the Princess and the Frog was sooo booorring. I don’t fall asleep often in movies, but that one was a snoozer. I liked Tangled, but I didn’t like it anywhere near as much as I liked some of the older princess movies.

I don’t think it’s just that I’m older and so the movies aren’t as interesting. I still love kid movies. Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs??? Yes, please! I loved the book and I loved the movie. And don’t get me started on how much I loved Rio. I think I loved everything about that movie. Oh, and I think any Pixar movie goes without saying. Amazing.

Well, I think I’m done now. Sorry if I ruined Disney for you as well.

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “I’m still mad that college ruined Disney for me.

  1. I liked the horse and the chameleon in “Tangled.” But the emotional abuse was more than I could stomach. The witch-mother was more evil than any villain I have ever seen on Disney because she is alive and well in every community in the world.

  2. Wow. Things you don’t think of when watching Disney!! I haven’t seen The Princess and the Frog (or Tangled) because I haven’t heard great things about them… I have them to watch, but I’m not sure I will now!

  3. The good thing about the princess & the frog was that she stuck to her guns, worked hard and bought her restaurant with her own money! having a prince didn’t help her achieve her goals. He was just an added bonus 🙂

  4. I loved The Princess and the Frog – the music was fab! And I sobbed when Ray died. I’ll always be a Disney girl, feminism be damned 🙂

  5. Disney has a LOT to answer for. How many people do you know that say “oh, I can’t eat Bambi” when venison is on the menu? A lot of the anti-hunting brigade imagine all wildlife are Disney characters. Children have an extremely warped idea of what animals need and how they behave, dressing them up is not natural, a lion (they are not all Simba) killing a zebra is necessary so it can eat to survive!

    • I really don’t get the not eating Bambi thing. It’s just weird. People will eat animals that are raised in factory farms and tortured their entire lives, but they won’t eat venison because of a stupid movie?

  6. Yeah, Disney was ruined for me years ago too. There is just way too much emphasis on outward beauty, PRINCESSES, and needing a man in order to “live happily ever after, the end.” I don’t want to be the extreme freak mom, but I did tell Nathan that I didn’t really want Annabel to watch the princess movies until she’s old enough to understand them better. I just feel like they set little girls up for a lifetime of unrealistic expectations

What are your thoughts?

