How many times have you shaved your legs?

When I was 6th grade all the cool kids had really nice legs. I finally realized it was because they shaved their legs, while I still had monster hair sprouting out all over mine.

Say what you want about hair being natural. We live in a society and unfortunately it’s one that doesn’t like body hair so if you want to fit in you better shave. I’ve talked about my hairy arms before and the grief those caused me before I shaved.

Anyway, in 6th grade I decided to shave my legs. I got a razor, sat down in the shower and was super scared! I thought I was going to shave some skin off. Turns out it doesn’t work like that, and you really don’t have to try that hard to not slice your skin.

I thought my legs looked SO cool once they were shaved. So cool, in fact, that I decided to document it. I promised myself that for the rest of my life I’d count how many times I shaved my legs. I thought it would be really cool to be 75 and be able to say, “I’ve shaved my legs 9,984 times.”

Yeah, I totally worked that sum out on a calculator and got the wrong answer at first. Nothing boosts your confidence like getting adding and subtracting wrong … on a calculator. Then I spelled calculator wrong, three times. What is wrong with me today??

This shaving business has gotten me all flustered.

Technically I could still quote this 9,984 to people because it seems pretty accurate, but when has an approximation ever impressed anyone? This kind of thing needs a stone cold, solid statistic. Otherwise people will think you worked it out with a calculator and that’s not impressive.

(Just for the record, I lost track around 60 something shaves.)

So, do you know how many times you’ve shaved your legs?

16 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

16 responses to “How many times have you shaved your legs?

  1. I have absolutely no idea! Haha.

  2. Well…I’ve never counted how many times I’ve shaved, BUT I do remember being sooo excited to shave my legs for the first time. I thought it was cool and “adult” of me. Now I wish I could go back to not caring, haha.

  3. Umm, don’t know if this is appropriate, but I don’t shave my legs. (I’m a guy, btw.) But I do shave my armpits (have so always) and sometimes do the nether regions as well when the weather gets really hot here in Hong Kong. Our summertime temperatures are around 32 degrees C (high 90s F) with 99% humidity – yecch. I just don’t understand why guys don’t shave their hairy bodies when the weather is hot and soupy … god, the pong…

  4. Tanya Martin

    The count would depend on a lot of factors. When we get older the rate of hair growth changes and by the way the area with hair growing changes as well. ( note chin hairs on old ladies)You also become less hung up on the fact the your legs might be a little hairy and start to like the extra layer of warmth.It had to be a man that decided that female legs should be shaved.

  5. I’m impressed with your figure. I’ve only shaved my legs 4,278 times.

    Ha, just kidding. I have no idea. But I too remember how excited I was and how cool I felt. It was the same feeling of excitement and pride I got when I started my period and really became a WOMAN! Man, I was such an idiot. Little did I know how much I would come to hate shaving my legs and having my period (one nice thing about being pregnant, btw).

    Also? I’m 28 freaking years old and I still manage to cut myself all the time! I think I need to invest in better razors.

    • lol!! You’ll have tons of opportunities for counting things when the baby comes!! I used to cut myself a lot, but nothing major. I remember one of the worst was in Spain, but that was probably because the bathroom was so crappy and barely had a curtain, and my sister came in so I freaked out and tried to hide behind the piece of crap “curtain” mid shave.

  6. I asked my mother one night as she was washing and I was drying, “How old do you have to be to shave your legs?” She said, “Old enough to ask.” I shaved them that night with her green lady remington. Very sweet!

    • So funny! I love all these stories. I’m glad I’m not the only one who remembers the first time I shaved my legs. I actually had no idea so many other people would have such fond memories. So cool!

  7. 0. I shaved my armpits once just to see if I’d like it. The razor burn was ungodly. So I never did that again.

What are your thoughts?

