I definitely take after my dad.

My mom sent me two pictures this morning that cemented the fact that I take after my dad.

My mom’s packed lunch:

My dad’s packed lunch:

I don’t get people. You’re at work at least 8 hours a day – in what world does that warrant only one meal? Β I guess I’m jealous! Packing and carrying all that food is a burden, and I always have to be thinking about where my next meal is coming from because I get so hungry. Unfortunately I can’t find the picture I took of one of my packed lunches, but it doesn’t matter because you can just imagine something similar in size to my dad’s lunch.

I feel happy when I meet other people like me because they understand the hunger. The hunger is one reason why I don’t like to hang out with large groups of people. You could be stuck for hours with the hunger while you’re waiting on everyone in the group to get hungry enough to eat, and then you have to wait even longer for them to come to a group decision about where to eat. When Adrian’s friends had a camping trip for three full days a couple months ago that honestly was one reason why I didn’t want to go. The thought of having all my meals for three days planned around a group decision sounded simply awful. I knew thoughts of eating would consume me, and I’d be nervous the whole day about how long I was going to be waiting. If it were up to me I’d have just gone to get food whenever I pleased, but for some reason Adrian felt this would be rude.

Adrian doesn’t understand the hunger. He just says, “I get hungry too.” If he actually understood like he thinks he does, he wouldn’t skip breakfast every day and then have a pitiful little sandwich from Pret for lunch, and then not eat again until dinner time. Any time I eat a sandwich from Pret I’m hungry again in exactly an hour. Skipping breakfast? Not an option. As soon as I wake up I’m absolutely starving to the point where my stomach hurts. If I do decide to not eat at the house and get something at work, by the time I get there I have a headache from not eating all night, and I feel so sick I want to throw up (which I think is weird, because there’s nothing in there).

I would feel like a freak, but I’ve met a number of people like me so it must be kind of normal.

I’m certain I’ve written about this before, but I don’t know where that post is and I don’t really care. Some topics are important enough that they need discussing again. And this is my blog and I can do what I want *snap* *snap*!

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “I definitely take after my dad.

  1. haha I love that they sent you actual pictures of their lunches! And yes it is your blog and you can do what you like πŸ˜› For the record I get the whole so-hungry-I-feel-sick thing, no idea where that instinct comes from but do you also find that you can temper nausea in general by eating something?
    Anyway this is gross so I’m changing the subject! Enjoying the weather in London today?!

    • When I first saw the picture I was like “Why is she sending me a picture of a lunch?” Then I saw the other picture to go with it and started laughing. And yes, if I eat a little something I don’t feel as sick really, but I still feel weak and headachey. Weather in London … I’m scared. Thunder and lightning all day since it was so hot!!

  2. I feel your pain! My husband has a nice work for the mood it puts me in too… hangry. I get so hungry I can be especially sarcastic and mean and angry haha… gotta keep us fed! πŸ™‚

    • I LOVE the word hangry! So funny. And yes, I get kind of mean and super impatient. I don’t care what anyone thinks of me when it gets to that point – I’m just like GET ME FOOD!! lol

  3. I so could have written every word of this post! School used to give me so much anxiety because I could only ever eat on someone else’s schedule. I was physically scared of moving from my private school that had a morning snack at 10:00am to a public school where I would have to starve between breakfast at 7:30 before school to lunch at noon.
    Now I’m a grown up, so I can eat whenever I please. For me that means snacks in my desk drawers because there’s nothing more terrifying than being stuck at work with nothing to eat. And I bring a huge lunch too; unlike my coworker who brings a sandwich in a ziploc and THAT’S IT! Huh?! Where are the sides?
    I can also relate on the husband bit. Mine is exactly the same way and we have had numerous arguments on the weekends about it while we’re out running errands. I’m like, dude, I need to eat and I need to eat right.now. He will have had coffee for “breakfast” and still not need lunch whereas I’m about ready to eat my arm off even though I ate a full breakfast before we left the house. My hands literally start to shake when I’m hungry and you do not want to be around me when I haven’t been fed adequately!
    Phew! It felt so good to get all of that out:)

    • Yes, that’s exactly how I feel!! We’ve also gotten in many arguments because of me having to “ruin” a good time by leaving to go get food. I bring snacks but sometimes I forget or it’s not enough. And about side dishes, absolutely. Also my lunch bag gets even bigger if I bring a salad or something and then have to pack dressing and stuff as well. And school was sooo difficult too. I used to feel so sick by lunchtime! In that respect work life is so much better.

  4. I absolutely agree with you! I also need to know where and when I will have my next meal. πŸ™‚

What are your thoughts?

