A dirty little secret.

Ninety percent of the time I don’t invade people’s privacy because I wouldn’t want it to happen to me.

Somehow my thinking and self-control go completely out the window when I’m in another person’s house in their bathroom. I have an uncontrollable urge to open their medicine cabinet and see what’s up. It’s like I have to do it. I need to know what pills are in there, what brand of razors, what deodorant, what odd bits are floating around in there just waiting to be discovered.

Photo from Esquire by Ben Goldstein/Studio D

I feel so guilty for poking around in a person’s private space, but it’s just too easy to go “poke” and pop the little cabinet door open. The poke is such a simple, innocent, insignificant act that it almost makes me feel like what I’m doing is completely natural.

Poke. Pop. Too easy.

Please don’t let this deter you from inviting me over. I promise I won’t look in your cabinet. Especially if you don’t have one.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “A dirty little secret.

  1. Troy

    Sarah,

    It is people that snoop that really make me want to put all sorts of odds and ends inside the medicine cabinet just to make people wonder.

    Troy

  2. You’re welcome to snoop in my medicine cabinet any time. Sadly I think it might disappoint. I think I have some body lotion, deodorant, q-tips, and random hair products in there. But I’m liking the idea of putting funky stuff in there to freak people like you out:)
    What’s the weirdest thing you’ve ever come across in someone’s medicine cabinet?!

    • Sadly I don’t remember anything making it work popping the cabinet open. I’ll hold out hope that people will put some freaky stuff in there so I can walk out thinking I know some weird secret about the person. I think I’ll also be sure to put weird stuff in my cabinet in case I have any snoopers, which I’m sure I will because I think medicine cabinet snooping is widespread!

  3. karesaurus

    This is so weird. I was just talking to Connor a couple day ago about how I can’t help but to look in everyones medicine. It doesn’t matter how well I know the person, if they have a medicine cabinet then I’m taking a peek.

What are your thoughts?

