When recycling goes too far

I always thought living in a big city would be super fun. Fun, fun, fun all the time. What they don’t show you in movies and TV is that to get to the fun you probably have to walk through or past several piles of garbage. Sorry, Brits: “rubbish.”

A few weeks ago on my walk home from the tube station I noticed a house that had a bunch of crap outside – old dressers, boards, carpets and a toilet. “OK,” I thought. “I’ll give them the benefit of the doubt because they’re probably just renovating and this stuff will be picked up by the council tomorrow.”

A month later the stuff was still there so I blamed the local government for not picking it up fast enough. They delayed picking up my old bed for 3 days, but who knows? They could be extremely busy. I gave them the benefit of the doubt again because it’s FREE to have the council collect your belongings that are too big to fit in the dumpster so surely they couldn’t just be that lazy.

A week after that I walked by and the toilet was filled with dirt. I tried to give them the benefit of the doubt again, thinking that maybe the toilet was falling over in the wind and the dirt would weight it down. That doesn’t really make any sense, especially because there is nowhere for the toilet to fall, but I was trying.

The week after THAT I walked by and saw this:

Worst flower pot ever?

I don’t know. What do you think? Has recycling gone too far? 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “When recycling goes too far

  1. Hunter

    I thought this was the new trend so I started putting flower pot toilets all over my yard!!!

    Just Kiddding!

    • Ha ha, we should have done that at the town house! Someone on Facebook said it could be guerilla gardening, for example other people may have planted it so they at least didn’t have to look at a dirty toilet. I like that idea!

What are your thoughts?

