Back in Time

I’ve had the Huey Lewis and the News song stuck in my head ever since I thought of the title for this post.

Last week Karen (my sister) went to a Civil War re-enactment in West Virginia and has sent me a few pictures to share. I really wish I could have gone! This has also given me the perfect opportunity to finally post some pictures of the Civil War battle grounds and sites we saw last summer on our vacation to Virginia.

There’s nothing I love more than going to a historical recreation where the actors pretend to be confused when you talk about cell phones and cars. At Connor Prairie in Indianapolis there is a recreation of an 1800s settlement complete with actors and farm animals. I milked my first (only) cow there, pretending to be an 1800s farmer. Let me tell you, an udder does not feel how you’d expect it to be. It’s really … tough.

Portrait of Civil War reenactor Dwight Hensley, playing the role of Major General Richard Garnett.

Portrait of Civil War reenactor Stanley Kauling, playing the role of Major General Richard Heron Anderson, Andersons Division.

Portrait of Civil War reenactor playing the role of Civil War Photgrapher Matthew Brady.

Portrait of Civil War reenactor Barry Meadows, playing the role of General Ulysses S. Grant

Portrait of Civil War reenactor Jim Opdenaker, playing the role of General William T. Sherman.

Portrait of Civil War era woman reenactor.

Last year we saw both the place where Stonewall Jackson was shot and the place where he died.

Here’s the house and the bed where he died.

The original stone marker is only a few feet away.


We also went to the site of the Battle of Antietam, the bloodiest one day battle in our history, and saw the Dunker Church. You can read more about it here.

This is the famous picture of dead soliders in the field across from the church.

The fields of Antietam

A little fun in the gift shop at Antietam, wearing Abe Lincoln hats complete with a beard! I went with the somber Lincoln look while Karen went with the hopeful.

Here we are at Chatham, in Virginia.

In front of a house used by the Confederates, and a tree that was standing during the Civil War

 I really recommend going to Virginia to see some of these sites. I only had Monticello and Mount Vernon in mind, but after spending a week there I realized you could spend several weeks there and not see half the sites Virginia has to show.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Back in Time

  1. This all appeals to the history nerd in me, but then, when I’m confused about cell phones and cars, I’m not acting. Modern technology makes me load more black powder into the cylinders and take aim. . .

  2. I know, I never used to be interested in stuff like this but now it’s fascinating. Every day I wish I would have studied computers in school.

What are your thoughts?

