The man who ate 25,000 Big Macs

Yesterday Don Gorske, the “Big Mac Enthusiast” interviewed in the movie Super Size Me, ate his 25,000th Big Mac. Big Macs or not, I’d be proud of a feat of that magnitude.

I get obsessed with things, too, although admittedly not 25,000 Big Macs obsessed. Some things turn out better than others. One time I tried a pasty and I loved it so much that I bought 10 – literally. I got so sick of them that I never ate one again.

A good obsession has turned out to be running. When I started running in the Couch to 5K program a few weeks ago I liked it so much that I went ahead and signed up for a 10K. A 10K RACE!

When I realized that my visit back to Ohio in September coincided with the United States Air Force Marathon, I knew I wanted that to be my first big race. I’m going to run a couple 5Ks this summer, but ultimately I’ll be working toward that.

Guess what? I get a T-shirt too! I want a medal, but I don’t know if they give medals for 10K-ers or if they are even real medals. If they do and they are real I’m going to wear it around and pretend like I got it in the Olympics. I’ve gotten medals before for bowling, but they were so cheap you could see the plastic mold around the edges.

Why the Air Force Marathon? I don’t know. I feel some connection to the AF still because I grew up in it and I’m friends with the best pilot in the USAF (Hunter!). I also went through AFROTC Field Training (boot camp for officers) because I was planning to be an officer and I actually passed. I didn’t even get ranked close to last place either! Shocking. More on that later. Until then, wish me running luck!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

What are your thoughts?

