The flood, my website disaster, and moving forward.

I had a bad day yesterday. Yesterday was supposed to be the day I started week 4 of my running program, got my new lemony snippet site set up, and cooked a bunch of good food.

Instead we:

1) Used every blanket in our house to mop up the giant flood from the bathroom that leaked through the floorboards and into the living room and kitchen.

2) Got my site started then decided after 2 months of thinking about it and working on it that actually I hated it and it didn’t represent me at all so I freaked out and said I was going to quit blogging.

3) Ate pizza, popcorn, and Ben & Jerry’s Chocolate Fudge Brownie ice cream all day because I was too busy to cook.

BUT  – it’s a new day, and I have a plan.

God may hath releaseth the flood waters in our house, but the plumber came in this morning and fixeth that pipe like it’s nobody’s business.

In terms of my blog, instead of settling for a theme I’m not 100% happy with, I’m going to build my own from scratch. It’s an ambitious project, but I’m an ambitious person. And picky. If things aren’t perfect, I don’t want them. If I’m settling for anything I feel is less than the best and I have the power to make it better, I’m not happy, and I like to be happy. I bought Adobe Dreamweaver and spent 2 months teaching myself HTML and CSS, so why not use this as my big project to really learn how this stuff works?

This means it will take a few months longer, but I’d rather focus my time on learning than improving a theme WordPress has designed. I’ll feel so proud when it says MY name at the bottom of my website instead of some random designer.

Until then, I might change the colors on this theme to make things a little less drab. I’ll probably start using my lemony snippet name as well because it makes me laugh!

Here’s the header I designed then decided it’s not good enough. I even had a little photo shoot in my kitchen with a pile of lemons.

My bathroom this morning:

The water leaked out all along this wall and when you stood in our kitchen the floorboards were squishy and water squirted out of every possible place.

The last of the blankets waiting for their turn in the washer. By the way, what you see here is more than half of my kitchen floor space. Our apartment is decent sized for London and I really like it, but something definitely went wrong when they were planning kitchen space.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “The flood, my website disaster, and moving forward.

  1. Rhi

    Good for you for doing it all from scratch, I’m ok with HTML but have no idea about CSS… I’ve often thought about doing the same thing but then I panic that self hosting will cost too much and I’m too lazy to learn CSS too.

    Maybe ur new site will be an inspiration 😉 look forward to seeing the finished product.

    Sorry about the flooding, thats the worst thing! In my old flat my water tank just exploded one day and it was a bloody nightmare! Goodluck getting it all cleaned 🙂 xx

    • It’s SO frustrating. Sometimes it takes hours and hours to figure out one tiny thing. But in the end it’s really exciting. The CSS upgrade only costs about $15 but self-hosting – too scary for me for now. They said you could lose your whole blog if you mess up!

  2. Good luck with the computer work. Computers stopped making sense to me when DOS disappeared. As for the apartment, I went through a flooding when I lived in New Mexico (the storm sewers in a desert couldn’t handle a snow storm), so I feel your sogginess.

  3. I’m totally a point and click kind of girl. Kudos to you my friend for trying to do it on your own. YOU CAN DO IT!!!

What are your thoughts?

