Sitting is officially on the list of things that will kill you

I’ve always said, based on my own bad experiences, that sitting at a desk for 8.5 hours a day isn’t natural and is unhealthy. When I first started working in an office full time I’d frequently get leg cramps. My eyes would really hurt from staring at a monitor for so long. Even a year later my legs still hurt from sitting and they get so antsy that it’s hard to concentrate on working.

All I can think about sometimes is getting away from this desk and up and moving. Taking the recommended 5 minute walking break every hour doesn’t help, and it’s not an option anyway because people will think you’re lazy if you’re not at your desk working. I have no choice but to sit here (or some other desk) for the next 40 years.

Don’t get me wrong, I like my job, but if I had a choice I’d be doing a job where I wasn’t sitting all day. I feel like it’s too late now. I can’t afford and don’t have the time to go back to school to do something else, and any job I can think of where I’d be standing I wouldn’t make a living wage. It seems to be a case of how much do you hate sitting vs how much do you hate the job.

Of course this infographic hasn’t changed the way I think about this. For a while I’ve been trying so hard to think of a way out of office life, but I can’t see a realistic one for me that doesn’t involve more school and more money. If only I had it to do over again …

Sorry for the whiny post. I’m actually very happy with my life apart from my desk chair!

Sitting is Killing You
Via: Medical Billing And Coding

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Sitting is officially on the list of things that will kill you

  1. Rhi

    I agree with you that it’s no good sitting down for so much of the day. But I do not agree with that infographic. I work an office job, have done for years, but I am not fat, I don’t have high cholesterol or any trouble burning fat/calories and I don’t have diabetes (which seem to be the things it says will kill me).

    I know sitting all day isn’t great for you but this is going waaaaaay over the top!

    Although I want to take its advice and start running on the spot. At my desk. See how well it goes down! xx

    • Oh I agree with you about the graphics being over the top. I agree with the overall message about sitting being unhealthy, but the little devil standing behind the chair is kind of just for shock value and it makes it seem like if you sit in an office you will get fat and die, and that’s not true. I like and dislike the graphic for this reason.

  2. I went the other route, getting degrees in what interested me. Economically, it was a crazy decision, but I get to pace the room and talk to an audience that has to hear what I have to say.

    It’s not as though I really had a choice. I’ve been disasterously unsuccessful at any job outside of academia. I can’t seem to make anyone else rich either. . .

    • I also thought getting a degree in what interested me would make me rich. I guess there’s still time! I always thought about being a teacher as well. Not for the riches, though.

  3. I work from home and I work 5 hours in the morning and 3 hours in the afternoon to accommodate summer and break schedules with a kid. Being at home allows me the freedom to get up from my desk whenever I want to stretch, throw in a load of laundry, go up two doors to kiss the new baby, or even take Noah to school. As long as my computer isn’t “idle” longer than 29 minutes and I hit my numbers (I go WAY over my minimum requirement) I’m good. I LOVE MY JOB. Plus, my commute is 6 seconds and I can wear whatever I want or nothing at all for that matter. And I have the cleanest house on the block. And there you have it, a little more info about me.

    • Your job sounds AWESOME!!!! Although I have to admit I might have a hard time in the getting dressed department. I’d probably end up having permanent sweats attached to me. 🙂

  4. I work roughly 80-hour workweeks as a financial printer and my life is one long emergency. Never a day of peace – my customers are bankers, lawyers, accountants and government officials, you can probably imagine what it’s like. We (colleagues + me) sit for hours waiting on clients and then, BAM!, everything goes helter-skelter and everyone’s running around like mad to get their work done. I suppose that kills faster than anything else.

What are your thoughts?

