Halloumi baguettes

For some reason my mom doesn’t agree with having sandwiches for dinner. I know I’ve said before that her being right always ends up being the case, but I can’t see that happening about this particular matter.

I don’t know about you, but any meal I can pick up with one hand and stuff in my mouth is fine by me. I love sandwiches. They’re easy to make and easy to eat.

If you haven’t had halloumi before, I strongly suggest you try it. It’s a salty cheese from Cyprus that you grill or pan-fry, and it’s just so good.

Halloumi baguettes
– 1 pack of halloumi cheese
– 2 medium baguettes (One for each person. I buy the half-baked kind so it tastes fresh out of the oven.)
– 1 jar of sun-dried tomatoes
– 1 jar of kalamata olives (pre-sliced if you can’t be bothered)
– 1 jar of pesto
– Fresh spinach
– Red onion, thinly sliced

Slice and cook the halloumi until it’s slightly browned on both sides. No need to oil or butter the pan first. Cook your baguettes if you’ve bought the half-baked kind. Once both are ready, it’s as simple as assembling the items you want in the quantity you want. Don’t add too much pesto because it’s a strong flavor. I’ve also found that soaking the red onion slices in water while you’re preparing the meal takes the edge off but still leaves the sweet onion flavor.

You could also try making this with fresh mozzarella, which is what I’m going to do tonight! 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

What are your thoughts?

