Not your average chocolate chip cookie!

When you read the name of the cookies I just baked, don’t shy away! They taste like regular cookies and Adrian gobbled up so many that he didn’t have room for dinner, which was sad because dinner was delish.

My sister found a recipe for vegan cookies, and I was hesitant, but she was right. Definitely worth it. If for nothing else, it’s cheaper to make these than regular cookies because you don’t have to buy milk and eggs. Sorry, I should have said if for nothing else make these because YOU CAN EAT THE DOUGH!!

Vegan cookies = yummy edible dough. Who doesn’t like to eat cookie dough?

I don’t know about you, but I love eating dough that won’t give me salmonella. 🙂

Happy Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies

click here for original recipe

*Please note: I just copied and pasted the original recipe. I used regular flour because I didn’t have unbleached. Dark chocolate is generally vegan, so I bought a dark chocolate bar and chopped part of it with a knife. I also bought a small carob chocolate bar that I got at Whole Foods and chopped it.

Ingredients:

2 cups unbleached flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
cinnamon, to taste, optional
handful vegan chocolate or carob chips
1 cup raw sugar (turbinado; sucanat works too, but sucks up a lot of the moisture)
1/2 cup canola or vegetable oil
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/4 cup water

Directions:

1. Very important-make sure all ingredients are at room temperature. It will work if they’re not at room temp but it works much better if they are. Also while your oven is pre-heating put the cookie sheets you are going to use on top of the oven so they get preheated as well. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

2. In a large bowl, mix together flour, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon. Stir in chips. Make a well in the center and set aside. In a medium size bowl, add together sugar and oil; mix well.

3. Add the vanilla and then add the water; mix well.  Add the wet to the well in the dry. Mix it well but be careful not to overwork it.  Add more chips if you need to.

4. Spoon onto ungreased cookie sheets.  Put them in the oven.  Bake for 5 minutes and then flip and rotate the sheets (top to bottom and 180 degree rotation). Bake another 4 minutes and check them. The cookies are done when they seem a little bit softer then you want them to be. They will harden up some as they cool. I usually go in 2 minute increments from here until they get to where I like them.

5. Take them out when they are done and move them to wire cooling racks. If they split or come apart when you try to remove them let them sit on the pan for 2 minutes before transferring them to the racks.

Makes about 2 dozen. Prep time: 10 minutes. Cooking time: 10-12 minutes.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Not your average chocolate chip cookie!

  1. I love that my kids can taste my dough when I bake since I bake all vegan…it is such a bonus not to have to worry about eating raw eggs 🙂

    • I know! Not being able to eat the dough was always so sad when I was growing up. I think I’m going to try to convert all my baking to using only vegan products. It’s a really easy way to cut down on dairy consumption.

  2. thesavvystudent

    I won’t ever be complaining about risk-free cookie dough…YUM!

What are your thoughts?

