Too-tasty-to-share blueberry lemon muffins

It turns out baking isn’t too hard!

When I first took a bite of these blueberry lemon muffins I knew I had to share them with people. I envisioned taking them to all my friends at work, then realized I wouldn’t have enough for myself and they were way too good to give them all away.

“Well, maybe I’ll give them only to the people I really really like,” I thought.

But then I looked down at my little pot of muffins and thought, “Well, maybe I’ll just give one or two to my very favorite people.”

No, I just couldn’t do it. They’re too tasty to share! 🙂

Give a boy a plate full of muffins …

Good thing I have a whole box left in the kitchen! Now do you see why I couldn’t share with people at work?

I’m not a baker because I don’t like following recipes strictly by the book. I made these muffins the same way. I mostly followed the ingredients, but I didn’t at all follow the mixing instructions. Mine turned out great, and my way is also a lot easier. If you want to see how professionals do it, click on the recipe link below. Otherwise, take it easy and try my way!

Blueberry lemon muffins

Largely taken from this recipe on Foodnetwork.com

2 cups flour
2/3 cup sugar
1/4 tsp fine salt
1 tsp lemon zest, finely grated
1 1/2 cup blueberries, rinsed and dried
2 medium eggs
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 cup whole milk
1/4 cup vegetable oil (I subbed oil for butter)
Paper cupcake/muffin holders

Preheat the oven to 375 F or 190 C.

Mix the wet ingredients (egg, milk, oil) together with a fork. I substituted vegetable oil for butter because it was too much of a hassle to wait for the butter to soften, and also I don’t have a mixer!

Mix together the dry ingredients (baking powder, flour, sugar, salt) and grate the lemon zest in the bowl (I also squeezed a bit of juice into the mix!). Combine both bowls plus the blueberries and mix, but be careful not to overmix. I mixed it until most of the ingredients were combined and there wasn’t much flour or dry ingredients still showing.

Using heaping tablespoons drop the mix into the cupcake/muffin holders in your pan. I filled mine up about 3/4 of the way, and in some cases all the way just to see what would happen. I got some very tall muffins, and some normal looking muffins! All delicious!

I baked mine for 20 minutes, but the recipe online says 25 minutes. My oven is a lot hotter than normal ovens it seems, so I’d go with 20 first and see how it’s going. Good luck!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Too-tasty-to-share blueberry lemon muffins

  1. Those look amazing, and now I’m really craving a blueberry muffin…blueberry lemon to be precise! YUM! Do you by chance deliver to Texas? 🙂

    • You definitely should try them! I was scared of baking something like this that wasn’t out of a box, but it really couldn’t be simpler. Especially with my method! Let me know if it works out for you!

What are your thoughts?

