Fried pickles and iced Earl Grey

Fried pickles aren’t found in England (that I’ve ever seen) because you’d have to call them fried gherkins, which to me sounds like a mix between “burp” and “gurgle.” I don’t know about you, but I don’t want to eat anything that sounds like burp and gurgle.

When the English say “pickle” they are talking about a chunky brown matter that you spread on sandwiches, crackers or cheeses. It’s pretty good, I just think it needs a new name so the word “gherkin” can be eradicated. (I get that they are actually called gherkins and the process to make them taste how they do is called pickling. Still.)

Anyway, what I’m saying is that I brought a little of the US into England yesterday. I finally satisfied my craving for fried pickles, and I’ve provided my recipe because it’s really too simple. Also, what better way to wash it down then with some iced tea? I made mine with Earl Grey and lemon because I’ve taken a strong liking to both.

If you can find pickle chips, use those. I couldn’t find them so I had to use long slices which I just cut in half. For the traditional kind of fried pickles, use kosher dill pickles. They didn’t have those so I had to use pickle slices that were sweetened and had mild spices, which were good, but not traditional.

In a bowl combine flour and cornmeal, equal parts, then add a little salt and pepper. I didn’t have a lot of pickles so I didn’t use much. This is one of those recipes that you don’t really need to stick to a strict recipe, just eyeball it. You’ll need enough to lightly coat each side of the pickle.

Place the slices in very shallow hot vegetable oil. Only pour enough in to meet the top of the slices. Let them fry on each side about three minutes, or until golden brown on both sides. Be sure to flip them while cooking.

Lay the pickles on a couple paper towels to soak up excess oil, then chow down! If you forgot to add salt and pepper to the flour/cornmeal mix, while they are still hot is a good time to add it.

Make some iced Earl Grey and you might almost be able to pretend it’s summer …

Fried pickles

1 jar kosher dill pickles

1/4 cup flour

1/4 cup cornmeal

salt & pepper

vegetable oil

Iced Earl Grey

Place one tea bag at the bottom of a tall glass. Pour about an inch of boiling water in the glass and let it set for 2-3 minutes. Fill the glass 3/4 with cold water, then remove the tea bag. Fill with ice, a teaspoon of sugar and top with a fresh lemon slice.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Fried pickles and iced Earl Grey

  1. Pingback: Some like it hot. | realfunfood

What are your thoughts?

