The vegan/omnivore alliance against factory farming

Eating Animals, by Jonathan Safran Foer, wasn’t a life changing book for me, but it brought up a lot of interesting ideas and I definitely think it’s a great place to start for anyone interested in where our food comes from. 

I think he brings a lot of different angles into his argument against factory farming. One of the most interesting aspects of the book was his focus on vegans or vegetarians who rather than campaign against all animal consumption participate in the movement to raise animals for slaughter in healthy, humane ways.

Side note: If you  haven’t read his fiction book Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close, I highly recommend it. I don’t generally describe anything other than cats as “adorable,” but the main character is adorable, and the story is fantastic. I also don’t really like heart-wrenching stories, but this story about a young boy who loses his father in the 9/11 terrorist attack is heart-wrenchingly wonderful. Loved it!!

The article below is exactly related to what I just mentioned about vegans and omnivores joining forces to try to eliminate factory farming practices.

http://www.grist.org/article/2011-03-23-introducing-the-vegan-omnivore-alliance-against-animal-factories

I’m currently looking into how I can get involved in London. I don’t want to be the type of “activist” whose only activism is blogging angry words.

Naturally Adrian doesn’t agree with volunteering with anything to do with animals when there are people suffering in the world, but I think this is helping people. This is a cause I am becoming passionate about and I’m devoting almost all of my reading time to health and food issues associated with where our food comes from and how it is produced. This is just as much about people as it is about animal welfare and safety.

Another good place to start learning is Twitter. I follow a few people who post a lot of great articles about where our food comes from, what’s in our food and the movement to end factory farming.

Here are a few of my favorite food related/animal welfare people to follow on Twitter. I’m still fairly new, so if you have any recommendations leave a comment! To see my full list, just visit my Twitter page @sarakuhlman.

@HumaneSociety

@bittman

@guardianfood

@michaelpollan

@TheAtlanticLIFE

@GordonRamsay01

@jamie_oliver

@nytimesdining

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “The vegan/omnivore alliance against factory farming

  1. Great written article. The fight against factory farms is not just a Vegan fight, time for people to wake up.

  2. ericascime

    Eating Animals is a fabulous book! As a vegetarian, I learned so many new things.

    • It is a great book. I’ve really tried to cut down on my animal products, but I’m still deciding how far I want to go. I have a feeling it’s going to take up quite a few new blog posts!

      You’re blog is great! I loved the quesadilla recipe so I’ll probably try it this week!

  3. Yes, Eating Animals is perhaps the most important book about this topic. I recommended it to friends and one became a vegetarian. It should be mandatory in schools and anywhere else.

    • I agree. I definitely think we need to read books like this, or In Defense of Food so people will start question the people who tell them what they are eating is healthy, and start questioning where food comes from.

      I checked out your blog and it looks really informative. I’ll be back!

  4. Well said! I had completely forgotten that you mentioned his fiction book to me, and I really want to get it! I’ve been looking for a new read and I zipped through my latest book club book:)
    Anyway, I love this topic and love when you post about it!

    • Thanks! I think I’m definitely going to keep posting about it because it’s an important topic and there’s a lot of information going around right now. And definitely check out his book!

  5. Recently I wrote a blog entry offering a leftist critique of the ideology of “Green” environmentalism, deep ecology, eco-feminism, and lifestyle politics in general (veganism, “dumpster diving,” “buying organic,” “locavorism,” etc.). I’d be interested to hear your thoughts on the matter and any responses you might have to its criticisms.

What are your thoughts?

