The other side of the iconic British phone booth

The British phone booth. It’s cute, it’s iconic, it’s a standard tourist photo-op. 

But what happens when you actually go up to one and take a good look?

In London you’ll probably find seedy sex ads plastered all over the interior walls, and if you are brave enough to open the door you’ll get a nice strong whiff of someone’s decaying urine.

Mmmmmm …. peeee.

The Brazillian transexual phonebooth picture is one of the first shots I took with my new camera. I decided to go out in London on a Saturday night to try to capture some of the excitement of the city once the sun goes down. Unfortunately I didn’t get very far because that was during the time my wrist was freaking out and I was worried I was going to have a T-rex arm.

These are the fountains in Trafalgar Square, one of my favorite places to take pictures of because it always looks so moody during the day and you can see a little Big Ben in the distance.

I hope to get out in the city with my new camera soon! If you missed my pictures of the holy-crap-this-is-amazing place they call Venice, click here.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “The other side of the iconic British phone booth

  1. You mean that the interior of the telephone booth isn’t a time ship? That’s what British television taught me.

    • Ha! I actually went to the Dr. Who Experience show in London last week. I have never seen the show, but I got to see real parts of the sets, monsters and their different Dr outfits and stuff.

  2. Robin

    Hey, that’s a picture of me! And I’m wearing that sweater that I am always wearing in any picture.

    (I forget if I commented on your Venice photos already, but they were seriously gorgeous.)

    • Yeah, that’s the standard Robin sweater. I think it’s to the point now where you can’t stop taking pictures in it. It can be your thing, like Where’s Waldo, but Where’s Robin?

      Come back to England and I’ll take you to Venice.

      • Robin

        It is very Waldo. I like that idea.

        Also, how could you not tell me you went to a Doctor Who show? That’s so exciting! I’m very jealous.

  3. I love that pic of Trafalgar Square! (I onced ordered a book with an address from that street and I always thought it sounded like a cool place. Now, I see that it is!)
    I am obsessed with night pics and lights. I am trying to get better at it and love to go out in the evening. I’m sure you have seen a few on my site. You do a great job of it and I can’t wait to see more!

    By the way, I am awarding you the Versatile Blogger Award and named you on a list of 15 bloggers whom I like! Because I think you do such a good job, your funny and adventurous, and have great pics! You can read about it on my blog and feel special! You may have gotten it before. I really have no way of knowing. (So, I guess if you don’t accept it, you could just say you’ve already gotten it, because I would have no way of knowing if you were telling the truth or not. 🙂 )

    • Thanks so much!!! I’m just on my way to work so I’ll check it as soon as I can. (I’ve never gotten an award for blogging so I’ll definitely feel special!)

      I’ll post more pictures of Trafalgar Square, including a bunch more night pictures, just for you! There’s not really a lot to do in the square, but it’s a great place to photograph.

What are your thoughts?

