Life Lesson: Never look forward to anything. Especially seeing celebrities. Especially Gordon Ramsay.

Ever since last week when I found out Gordon Ramsay was going to be on Brick Lane promoting his new range of bottled curry sauces I got SO excited. I pleaded with my manager to let me leave work 30 minutes early so I could make it to Gordon on time. I tweeted about it and updated my Facebook status multiple times. I thought about it every day.

“Only three days until I get to see Gordon Ramsay!!”

“Only two days until I get to see Gordon Ramsay!!”

“Only one more day!!”

“Today I get to see Gordon Ramsay!!”

I told my manager he had helped make one of my dreams come true – to see a famous person in London. Everyone sees famous people all the time, but I never do. One time I saw Gok Wan at the Wandsworth Cineworld buying popcorn, but I didn’t even know who Gok Wan was. I still don’t. Adrian knew, and he told me.

So I got off work early, went all the way over to Brick Lane and pushed my way through piles of garbage and hipsters. If you don’t know, Brick Lane is filled with tons of curry restaurants on one end and hipsters on the other. If you haven’t seen this video, please watch it. You’ll then understand the kind of person who hangs around Brick Lane. It’s too perfect, and too funny.

I found Gordon’s booth but it looked like the event was over so I got really sad. Then I saw a bunch of people standing around by a close building with their cameras and the flame of hope started burning within me again. I could see him in the building talking to people, but I couldn’t get a good shot. He started walking toward the door to leave, so we all put our cameras up, and then a big gray van drove by. Slowly. People started saying “WTF! ARE YOU KIDDING ME??” By the time the van weaved its way through the alley, Gordon was in the car rolling away.

I didn’t even get a picture.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Life Lesson: Never look forward to anything. Especially seeing celebrities. Especially Gordon Ramsay.

  1. Pingback: Planet Earth: Richmond Park Edition | lemony snippet

  2. Pingback: Planet Earth: Richmond Park Edition | realfunfood

What are your thoughts?

