Today Show in Jan 1994 – What is the Internet??

I don’t remember what life was like before the Internet. We’ve had a computer since I was about 7, and Internet not long after.

I’ve always wondered what it must be like for people who were adults when the Internet came around, and now I know:

You know what else I don’t remember? Life before TV remote controls. Some Brits (who are roughly my age)  in my office were talking about how they remember the days when they had to get up and switch the TV manually.

I had a really confused face, because I thought this stopped happening in like 1965. This was something I only saw in black and white TV shows. Then I remembered I’d heard Brits didn’t get more than four TV channels* until around the early to mid 90s, and they confirmed this was true. Yes, you read me right. Four channels. Mid 90s. Man I had a giggle fit.

Don’t worry – they have channels now! (and remotes)

* Adrian said: “Could you put in there that although we only had 4 channels they were packed full of quality programs (programmes), like Only Fools and Horses, Monty Python, Blackadder, Keeping Up Appearances, Red Dwarf, etc. They’ve stood the test of time.”

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Today Show in Jan 1994 – What is the Internet??

  1. Yup, no remotes back in the Sixties and Seventies. And it was three channels instead of four: BBC1, BBC2 and ITV. Anglia TV came in drips and draps, London Weekend Television came (predictably) on weekends (from 5.30pm Friday), and couple of regional TV “channels” that piggybacked on ITV in different timeslots. Back then, we have the TV Test Card instead of morning or afternoon TV. But UK was miles shead of everyone: we sneered at the South Africans who didn’t have TV at all until 1975. The UK was prehistoric then. It was a really nice country to live in.

  2. Ah, the good old days, before people were convinced that they had to watch TV all the time, and so enough channels and programmes were created to cover every second of everybody’s day.

  3. And we didn’t need remotes because what we wanted to watch was already on the screen.

  4. I was JUST having this conversation with my dad about remembering not having a remote. Though I did know many other families who had remotes and more than four channels, so this was just my family being behind the times cause of the whole country-living thing. We had this dial connected to an antenna that we had to turn if we wanted the picture to come in.

    I also remember it being a super big deal when we got our first cordless phone.

    • Wow, yeah, we totally had a remote and real TV since I was born. At least you’re cool now, and even cooler than me. I’m willing to be you have a phone that costs more than a $1.

  5. FOUR CHANNELS?! 90’s?

    What.

    I had to reread that. Is it sad that the first thing I thought about was how only four channels seems like the worst fate ever? It’s like worse than no television at all.

    • Four channels the worst fate ever??? Noooo, ’twas three channels in my days … and it was a dream. With only three to go round, plus the bleeding test card (technically called an indent), the programme officers at BBC and ITV really had to come up with good programmes or the rest of us won’t pay the TV licence.

  6. OMG, that clip is hilarious! Wow. And is that Katie Couric? Why is she so orange?!
    I suppose I’m a few years older than you because I definitely remember no internet! Though remote controls have been around since I was alive. I can’t get over 4 channels in the mid-90’s!

What are your thoughts?

