British Christmas: Year Two

This was my second year out of the nest, away from home for Christmas. Last year was difficult because I also didn’t have any money since I wasn’t making much selling overpriced crap at Banana Republic.

This Christmas was pretty great though. I have a good job and a good apartment now, so there was lots of Christmas cheer.

A few words about Christmas in England.

I still have a lot of English people tell me I “must see” The Snowman.

Last year the posters on the tube told me The Snowman was “as traditional as mince pie!”

I should have known.

I want to like mince pies because they are so British, and they are plentiful at Christmastime. They even look fun, sitting in their cute little red boxes at the store. But under that cute box is an uncomfortably thick, dry pastry filled partially with a nasty brown “fruit” substance in which you get the occasional crunch. Ick!

I’ve tried almost every variety now from cheap store brand to the highly priced Fortnum & Mason pies, thanks to a mince pie enthusiast on my team at work. I tried to like them, I really did. I even said outloud several times, “Yeah it’s alright!”

Adrian loves mince pies.

Anyway, Adrian bought The Snowman for me for Christmas last year, and I excitedly watched it because I thought it was going to be a quaint English story about a snowman. No.

A young boy has an adventure-filled night with a snowman, and he even gets to go meet Santa, or “Father Christmas,” as Brits like to say. The boy gets up the next morning and finds his new best friend dead. His corpse is on the ground in the form of a giant puddle. Then the movie ends.

I know Frosty eventually melts, so it’s not like this is a new story, but I still wasn’t expecting it and it was a really depressing movie! And this is their classic Christmas movie. We have A Christmas Story, and they have a tear jerker.

On a brighter note, they have Christmas crackers. I went all out this Christmas and bought “expensive” ones. Good choice, because one of the crackers exploded and out popped a whoopie cushion! I have never met a person who didn’t laugh at the THHBBPPPP!

That’s our table with a cracker for each person to open before Christmas dinner. Inside every cracker known to man is a little paper hat, which everyone must wear during xmas dinner.

Wait, are those little freakin’ cheese slices in the shapes of Christmas trees, stars and a stocking? Yes!

A few more favorite pics from Christmas with the Mitchells:

Charlie Brown Christmas tree

Maria helping me make brownies with sliver sprinkles

My spinach and artichoke dip, which I’ll provide the recipe for later

Maria Christmas morning after opening her Cinderella dress

Adrian enjoying my homemade cheese and onion sandwiches, a British classic! If there’s anything in life people love, it’s whoopie cushions and triangle sandwiches.

Click here for my recipe

… and to all a good night!

1 Comment

Filed under England, European Adventures, Uncategorized

One response to “British Christmas: Year Two

  1. The snow man IS incredibly depressing… I remember feeling genuinely distressed after watching it when I was younger. Still, it’s something we put ourselves through yearly and Christmas wouldn’t be the same without it!! Glad you had a nice Christmas, Look at all those presents!!

What are your thoughts?

