Where My Heart Has Been This Week

I haven’t been posting much lately. Bad squishy. Bad squishy!

In more words or less, I accidentally got addicted to Mario Kart Wii.

Seriously. I didn’t see it coming, either. I thought I hated this game. I used to describe myself as a “Mario Kart 64 enthusiast,” and I was opposed to the Wii version because I tried it once and hated it. 

Then a guy at work challenged me to a race about two weeks ago so I rented it on Lovefilm (Netflix) and the rest is history. We’ve already played about 30 games online against each other and we keep going back and forth between him being a game or two up and me being a game or two up.

After about the 20th race I went out and bought the game, and ever since that day last week I haven’t been able to think about anything else.

I used to think about my blog every day. My blog was my best friend. I got Freshly Pressed and I couldn’t have been happier in my blog relationship. The best part was that I made some really cool new blog friends.

And then MK Wii happened. Starting Monday, dear blog, I’ll embrace you once again.

In other news, I’m going to Paris in a couple months. I have been there about 5 times before, but I was a stupid teenager so it’s probably going to turn out like the Cambridge trip where I realize I never noticed anything because I was too busy shopping.

Some more news: here’s a funny story about a Kentucky man who was forced to chop off and then eat his own beard:

http://www.thestar.com/news/world/article/889670–man-forced-to-eat-his-own-beard

Do you want to talk about Mario Kart again? I do. I play as King Boo because his noises and facial expressions give me the giggles:

Well, goodbye for now.  Wait – one more thing. It’s my birthday this weekend so if you want to buy me things on my Amazon.co.uk wish list, feel free. Shop to your heart’s desire. Live long and prosper.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Where My Heart Has Been This Week

  1. Kim Pugliano

    I will NOT come second to Mario. Except for by my son and my nephew and sometimes my husband. BUT NOT MY BLOG FRIEND. NO NO NO!

  2. LL

    MK Wii (and N64) is very obsessive. I spent more than half of last year trying to unlock everything and eventually giving up in frustration (some controller throwing was also involved). Good thing my sister is addicted this year; she actually unlocked Dry Bowser, who sucks because he’s heavy as hell to maneuver. I sometimes think about getting the wii wheel or playing with the controller sideways, but it lowered my performance (12th place) when I tried it.

    • I haven’t even heard of dry bowser!! I got the wheel for free just by luck, but I haven’t tried it yet. I’m scared.

      • LL

        I had to drive with the wheel for the first time at a wii party when the nunchuk broke. I drove in the grass more often than the road. The wheel is just incredibly sensitive. I never really got the hang of it, but at least I can drive on the road 90% of the time now. But I am horrible at racing games.

        I am trying to convince my sister to unlock my mii racer a new set of clothes.

  3. Pingback: Obsessions That Have Nothing To Do With The New Year « RAM (random access memory)

What are your thoughts?

