I’ve Made Physical Contact With President Obama

I got up at 3 a.m. and waited in line for 7 hours to see Obama speak in Dayton, Ohio the month before he was elected president. It was amazing. Seriously. That was the second time I had seen him speak, and there is nothing like it.

Because we got there so early we got a spot directly in front of his podium. Because we got a spot directly in front of the podium, we were part of a select few he shook hands with. If that weren’t enough, he signed my copy of Dreams From My Father!

I took this picture directly after he shook my hand:

People are disillusioned because they expected immediate change, which is a bit ridiculous. I’m not disillusioned in the slightest because it takes more than 2 years to clean up 8 years of destruction. Does this make me special? Probably. I’m always looking for an excuse to feel special so why not use this! I do think he tried too hard to please everyone when they weren’t willing to say anything but “no.” Also, if you look past all the propaganda, half-truths and outright lies by people like Sarah Palin and Fox News, this administration has accomplished a lot. Here is a brief overview from the Washington Post this week.

http://voices.washingtonpost.com/ezra-klein/2010/11/the_end_of_the_do-something_co.html

I couldn’t be happier about something finally being done about healthcare. Say what you want about it – nothing is perfect but this had to be done. Dropping people from coverage when they become seriously ill or denying people coverage for a pre-existing condition is barbaric and Americans should be ashamed to condone such practices.

I don’t mind paying extra in taxes to help people have access to healthcare, that should be a right just like police and fire protection are rights. No one should ever be denied healthcare, and under the current system millions of people are. Projections show that over time it will reduce our healthcare costs, if not at first.

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/11/04/opinion/04orszag.html

I’m also very pleased with efforts to reform our embarrassing educational system. This column is from a couple months ago, but it’s a good overview:

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/06/04/opinion/04brooks.html

I believe the things that have been accomplished will be felt in years to come and will ultimately make him remembered as one of our best presidents. In light of the recent election, here’s an interesting article about how Obama saved capitalism at the expense of himself:

http://opinionator.blogs.nytimes.com/2010/11/02/how-obama-saved-capitalism-and-lost-the-midterms/?src=me&ref=general

I’ll always love you, Obama.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “I’ve Made Physical Contact With President Obama

  1. Kim Pugliano

    …you said from London….JUST KIDDING!!! I couldn’t resist saying it, although I’m totally behind you 100%.

  2. An Obama fan? I knew I liked you! 🙂 I had the privilege of hearing him speak a few months ago. I didn’t get to shake his hand or get that close, but it was still amazing! (I have a few pictures here if you’re interested: http://chasingfulfillment.wordpress.com/2010/08/09/welcome-mr-president/)

    I love that first picture.

    Also, you may enjoy this website:http://whatthefuckhasobamadonesofar.com/

  3. Erin H.

    Oh that is amazing!!!

What are your thoughts?

