The Arrival of Karnnor (Karen and Connor)

Karen (my sister) and Connor (her man) arrived in London last night. Late last night. After spending the first couple days in Paris they were supposed to catch a plane to London arriving at 10 p.m. The plane was delayed due to wind and then their train was delayed due to a person dying on the platform. They aren’t sure if the lady died, but they said she laid on the platform for about 20 minutes and the people weren’t rushing to take her away, so that’s pretty sad.

Meanwhile, I was waiting in Victoria Station for about 2 hours, dodging angry homeless people and trying to keep warm once they kicked us out onto the street at 1 am. I had gotten up for work at 5 am that morning, so by the time I got to the station at midnight I was tired and ready to sit in a chair and read my book.

I looked around and finally saw an open space, but the amount of open space on the bench immediately caught me off guard considering how many people were still in the station. Then I looked at the guy surrounded by space and I could tell he was crazy. After living in London for a year I’m very good at spotting the insane. Granted, this one wasn’t a hard spot because he was large and beefy, wearing a life vest, a beanie and covered with long, dirty, frizzy hair.  Instead of sitting down I went to look at the timetables so I could tell Karen what times the trains were leaving Gatwick. I was there about 5 minutes and had forgotten all about the crazy man. I heard some shouting in the main part of the station, but I didn’t think anything of it. When I walked back out I saw the large homeless guy walking up to random people and yelling at them. Being proper Londoners the people just ignored him or got up and walked away.

Finally after 2 hours Karnnor arrived. I’d like to start calling Karen and Connor “Karnnor.”  I’m fairly certain I should use singular verbs unless they are not acting as a unit, but it still seems weird.

I’ll update on our adventures, but for the weekend we are planning to go on a boat ride along the Thames, have fish & chips, get a curry, see Inception and get a Brit style popcorn (sweet), go to Brick Lane market and also to Platform 9 3/4 at Kings Cross station. For those of you who don’t know … actually, I’m not going to explain it. If you don’t know what Platform 9 3/4 is, you don’t deserve to know.

If your name is not Robin, Adrian or Karen, then you  have no need to read the below message:

Shut up. I know what you are thinking, and don’t bother!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

What are your thoughts?

