Preparation

Karen is coming this week and I have a lot of preparing to do.

Top two things on my list:

1) Cut my hair so I no longer look like a greasy, stringy-haired witch monster. No, I’m absolutely not getting it done professionally. It’s been a while, so my Fiskars have their work cut out for them tonight. (If you haven’t already, which you better have, see below for my post on Fiskars and hair cutting)

2) Get a new bath mat so our bathroom looks semi-adult. Currently our bathroom has pink tiles (ew), a black shower curtain and a small, bright orange circle rug. Really, it’s only the orange rug that looks truly horrendous. Its name is Ringum, and it’s from IKEA. It looked a lot cooler in the store and when it was just in the bedroom instead of serving as a bath mat.

Also this week I’d like to finish reading Alone in Berlin. That book is … what’s the word, GREAT! Also, addictive. It has a different name in the US, but I can never remember what it is. I could look it up, but I don’t do manual labor so I’ll leave that up to you.

This weekend I finished Undaunted Courage, about the Lewis and Clark expedition. I was captivated by that book. It really is so exciting, and I highly recommend it. I have been reading a lot of history books this year because sometimes I feel like my brain is suffering from atrophy since I’m no longer in school constantly learning. Up next is a biography of Benjamin Franklin and a history of early Britain. I’ll probably end up reading them simultaneously* because I can never read only one book at a time.  Benjamin Franklin’s house is preserved in London, so once I read the book I plan to pay the house a little visit.

* It’s true, the Brits really do say ‘simultaneously’ like Aldous Snow in Forgetting Sarah Marshall, and I always giggle.

I also plan to make this recipe that I found on the New York Times today (I’ll let you know how it goes):

Grated Raw Beet Salad

1/2 pound beets

3 tablespoons freshly squeezed orange juice

1 tablespoon freshly squeezed lemon juice

1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil

2 tablespoon minced chives, mint or parsley (or a combination)

Salt to taste

Leaves of 1 romaine heart

1. Peel the beets with a vegetable peeler, and grate in a food processor fitted with the shredding blade.

2. Combine the orange juice, lemon juice and olive oil. Toss with the beets and herbs. Season to taste with salt. Line a salad bowl or platter with romaine lettuce leaves, top with the grated beets and serve.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

What are your thoughts?

