Cultural learnings of England for make benefit glorious me

There is no better way to learn English than to learn it from an Englishman. I’m constantly told by the English that they “invented the language,” and that stuff Americans say is “stupid.”

I used to get very confused about their words sometimes. For example, the fact that they use the word “biscuit” to mean what we would call cookies always threw me off. I kept thinking, “If they use the word biscuit to mean cookies, what do they call biscuits?” Simple. They just don’t have them.

Then, sitting in the fresh-baked section at Marks & Spencer I saw what Americans would call biscuits. I couldn’t believe it. Adrian told me “No, those aren’t biscuits. Those are scones.”

“What??!! Well, what do you call scones then????” I couldn’t handle it.

Adrian explained that although their scones appear to be biscuits as I know them, they are actually quite thick and hard, not buttery, soft and delicious as the kind you would get at Popeye’s Chicken & Biscuits. Sounds. Gross. You English can keep your stale and dry “scones.”

Until I tried one!! Wow. They really are delicious. Now I see that WE are the ones missing out on this one! YUM! Anyone who comes to visit me is going to get a plate full of scone with their cuppa.

That is another thing. I didn’t believe anyone actually said “Cuppa,” until I went to this woman’s house and she not only said it but used it in its proper sense, as a one-word sentence asking if you would like a cup of tea.

“Cuppa?”

At Banana Republic the other day a group of them were talking about what stupid things Americans say and they came up with Jell-O. They call it jelly. What do they call jelly??? They don’t have jelly. They only have jam. They can’t have jelly because they used that word for Jell-O, so they simply removed it from society like biscuits.

I have also learnt (I can’t use ‘ed’ for past tense in this case because it’s not proper English) many other common sayings, but I think I’m going to save that for another post about stuff Adrian says.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Cultural learnings of England for make benefit glorious me

  1. Tanya

    Sara you should try a scone with clotted cream and fresh strawberries. Yum!

What are your thoughts?

